Grace

I saw a quote several months ago that said “Grace not Perfection” and it has been rolling around in my head for awhile. One morning a couple of weeks ago, I had finally finished sweeping the hardwood floors (which to me seems like one of those cleaning tasks that takes f-o-r-e-v-e-r) when my 3 year old rolls through with dirt caked on his shoes and a bag of crushed up goldfish crackers spilling out everywhere and made a huge mess on my brand spanking clean floors. AGHhhhhhhh!!!!!!

I’m not sure how often I am able to start and see a task through to completion without interruption (hint: almost never), so when it does happen its kind of a big deal. I can mentally check it off the to do list, give myself an ‘atta girl’ and move on with a really nice feeling of accomplishment. For the type A personality, it feels SO GOOD!

To have it immediately undone is really, really disappointing. Aggravating. And if I’m honest, angering. Enter small quiet voice in my heart right as I want to scold my toddler: “Grace. Not Perfection. What do you want more? A perfectly clean floor, or sweet children that are being happy kids, doing what kids do?” Grace. God, I want grace. I want to choose grace. Grace for Cash when he makes huge messes right where I just cleaned up. Grace for myself when my pre-pregnancy clothes still won’t fit, grace for my husband when he decides to surprise me with company for dinner when I have no meal plan except cereal and milk, grace for my boys when they aren’t meeting all the milestones the charts say they should, grace when I can’t run as fast or as far as I used to be able to… I could go on and on and on.

I want to be given Grace when I mess up or don’t measure up. So I need to remember to apply a generous portion to others (and even myself when I go on flaw-finder mode) also.

IMG_20140717_094023

I need a daily reminder of this if I want it to become like breathing to my thought process. So I made a chalkboard and hung it in my kitchen where I can see it from a place I stand often {the spot where the kitchen sink and dishwasher are located!}

If you’ve never created a chalkboard before, they are a really cute and inexpensive way to create art, reminders, lists, meal plans, etc, etc. All you need is a can of chalkboard paint. I like this one:

20140715_145540

You can get it at Lowes or Home Depot for $9.99/can. You can also buy it from the craft store, but they charge $25 for the same brand and same size, so don’t get it there!

You also need something to paint your chalkboard on. Shop your house first! Do you have an old picture frame you don’t use anymore? An old mirror? I like to check out goodwill, the flea market, and consignment shops for old picture frames and mirrors.

20140715_145343

Then I give the frame a coat of paint in whatever color I want {usually white} and then give the glass a couple coats of chalkboard paint.

20140715_145816

Couple of tips for painting chalkboard paint: Don’t paint it outside in hot weather. It gets really weird and gloppy and makes a mess. Secondly, only do one coat then wait for it to dry fully before applying a second coat. Second coat too soon will act as an eraser for your first coat and peel it off. Also, after its completely dry and you’re ready to write/draw on it, you need to season your board by rubbing it with chalk both horizontally and vertically and then wiping it off. Otherwise, your board will soak up whatever was the first thing written on it and you will never get rid of the ‘ghost’ drawing in the background.

20140717_082555

20140717_083915

So there you go! Super easy, inexpensive way to add chalkboard art all over your home!

Leave a Reply

